Ask The Experts


What’s the deal with gelatin? Where does it come from, and why is it in some formulas and not others?

Learn everything you need to know about gelatin in supplements from our expert source.


Gelatin is an animal protein derived from the hydrolysis (breakdown) of collagen. Collagen is present naturally in the skin, bones, and connective tissue of most animals, humans included. It is traditionally used to make hard-shell capsules and softgels to deliver precise amounts of functional ingredients and pharmaceuticals. Gelatin makes a great ingredient for capsules because it’s easily digestible, it’s virtually non-allergenic, and it’s easy to swallow due to its low-friction properties.

The gelatin in Nature’s Way products is derived from bovine and porcine sources, and like all of Nature's Way ingredients it undergoes extensive testing to ensure identity, purity, and limits on contaminants. In addition, all bovine sources in the United States must be BSE/TSE free by law. For certain uses (like in softgels or for some vitamin coatings) gelatin is superior to other ingredients as it prevents quality defects and protects vitamins from degradation during the production process, supporting product shelf life. For people avoiding animal products for ethical, dietary, or religious reasons, Nature’s Way offers a wide range of gelatin-free supplements; many of Nature’s Way’s gummies are gelatin-free and some of our capsule products use plant-based capsules. If you have further questions, please reach out to Customer Care at 1-800-9NATURE.